History of the United Counties

Named in honour of Governor Robert Prescott and Executive Councillor Peter Russell, the Corporation of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell was founded in 1820. This historic event also marked the arrival of French settlers in the region. Their presence has since continued to grow, to such a point that French-speaking residents today represent two-thirds of the 85,381 residents.